Researchers

Our strength is our personnel

 

Department Heads

Nick Pavlakis BSc, MBBS, MMed (Clin. Epi), PhD, FRACP
Appointment: Associate Professor, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Positions: Co-head, Bill Walsh Translational Cancer Research Laboratory; Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee, Australasian Lung Cancer Trials Group (ALTG)
Senior Staff Specialist, Dept. of Medical Oncology Royal North Shore Hospital Email: nick.pavlakis@sydney.edu.au
Stephen Clarke OAM, MBBS, PhD, MD, FRACP, FAChPM
Appointment: Professor, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Positions: Co-head, Bill Walsh Translational Cancer Research Laboratory; Director, Area Cancer Services Northern Sydney Local Health District, Senior Staff Specialist in Dept. Medical Oncology, Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: stephen.clarke@sydney.edu.au

Research Director

Viive Howell BSc (App), MSc, PhD
Appointment: Senior Research Fellow, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney.
Position: Laboratory Research Director, Bill Walsh Translational Cancer Research Laboratory
Email: viive.howell@sydney.edu.au

Laboratory Manager

Rozelle Harvie BSc, MSc
Appointment: Honorary Associate, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Position: Senior Hospital Scientist, Laboratory Manager
Email: rozelle.harvie@sydney.edu.au

Post-doctoral Researchers

Emily Colvin BMedSc (Hons), PhD
Appointment: Associate Lecturer, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Position: Postdoctoral Scientist, ovarian cancer research. CINSW Early Career Research Fellow
Email: emily.colvin@sydney.edu.au
Connie_smallConnie Diakos BSc(Hons), PhD MBBS FRACP
Appointment: Jennifer Price Oncology Research Fellow.
Position: Postdoctoral Scientist, colorectal cancer research. Medical Oncologist, Dept. Medical Oncology, Royal North Shore Hospital.
Email: connie.diakos@sydney.edu.au
Amanda Hudson BSc (Hons), PhD
Appointment: Associate Lecturer, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Position: Postdoctoral Scientist, brain cancer research. Sydney Neuro Oncology Group Postdoctoral Fellow.
Email: amanda.hudson@sydney.edu.au
Christopher Weir BSc (Biotech), PhD
Appointment: Honorary Research Fellow, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Position: Postdoctoral Scientist, vaccine research
Email: chris.weir@sydney.edu.au
sarahSarah Hayes BMedSc (Hons), PhD
Appointment: Associate Lecturer, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Position: Postdoctoral Scientist, lung cancer research. CINSW Early Career Research Fellow
Email: sarah.hayes@sydney.edu.au
SimonSimon Haefliger MD PhD
Appointment: Merilyn Dwyer Lung Cancer Post-doctoral Fellow
Position: Postdoctoral Scientist, lung cancer research
Email: simon.haefliger@sydney.edu.au

 

Scholars in Cancer Research

Csilla Hasovits BSc (Med), MBBS (Hons 1), FRACP
Position: Australian Postgradutate Award PhD Scholar, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney, Medical Oncologist, Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: chas5011@uni.sydney.edu.au
Indhu Subramanian BSc (Hons)
Position: Australian Postgradutate Award PhD Scholar, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Email: indhu.subramanian@sydney.edu.au
Joseph Chan BSc (Adv)
Position: MPhil Scholar (part-time), Medical Student, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Email: jcha3134@uni.sydney.edu.au
AdrianAdrian Lee BSc (Med), MBBS (Hons), FRACP
Position: Rebecca Cooper Foundation Scholarship Award, PhD Scholar, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney, Medical Oncologist, Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: adrian.lee@sydney.edu.au
AngelaAngela Cho BBiomedSc
Position: Sydney Neuro Oncology Group PhD Scholar, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Email: angela.cho@sydney.edu.au
Chris NahmChris Nahm LTCL, BSc (Med), MBBS (Hons), FRACS
Position: Australian Postgraduate Scholarship Award, PhD Scholar, Clinical Lecturer Discipline of Surgery Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney, Fellow Upper GI Surgical Unit, Royal North Shore Hospital.
Emailchris.nahm@sydney.edu.au

 

Research Assistants

Elizabeth Millar BSc (Hons)
Position: Hospital Scientist (Part-time), Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: e.millar@sydney.edu.au

Hannah-profile

Hannah Kamitakahara BHealthSc (Hons)
Position :  Research Assistant, Royal North Shore Hospital

Email: hannah.kamitakahara@sydney.edu.au

SamSamuel Yuen BMedSc
Position: Research Assistant, Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: samuel.yuen@sydney.edu.au

Senior Associate Investigators

Frances Boyle AM MBBS, FRACP, PhD
Appointment: Professor of Medical Oncology, Sydney Medical School – Northern, University of Sydney
Positions: Medical Oncologist and Director of Patricia Ritchie Centre for Cancer Care and Research, Mater Hospital
Email: frances.boyle@sydney.edu.au
Ross Davey BSc, PhD
Appointment: Adjunct Professor (retired)
Position: Consultant, Director (retired), Bill Walsh Translational Cancer Research Laboratory
Email: ross.davey@sydney.edu.au
Helen Wheeler MBBS, FRACP
Appointment: Associate Professor – Sydney Medical School
Position: Senior Staff Specialist, Head Dept. Medical Oncology, Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: hrwheeler@optusnet.com.au
Jonathon Parkinson MBBS, PhD, FRACS
Appointment: VMO Neurosurgeon, Royal North Shore and North Shore Private Hospitals.
Email: jparkinson@med.usyd.edu.au

Research Support Staff

Zoltan Kerestes PhD
Position: IT Systems Manager, Medical Oncology and Bill Walsh Translational Cancer Research Laboratory, Royal North Shore Hospital
Email: ZKereste@nsccahs.health.nsw.gov.au